Brock Rocks

June 27, 2012

The rest of the update

Filed under: Uncategorized — Vanessa @ 11:53 am

You should’ve known better than to believe me when I said I’d be back the next day with the rest of the update. 😉

If you follow Brock Rocks on Facebook or twitter then you probably already know that he had an appointment with his oncologist last Wednesday. He got iv chemo and we talked about a few things that have been going on with B (more on that in a minute). Brock woke up that night (about 2am Thur morning) with a fever, diarrhea, and vomiting. Any time he has a fever he has to go to the ER for a CBC and blood cultures. Jay took him so I could stay home with Reese (having a nursing baby means Jay gets the short end of the straw on middle of the night ER visits). They made it home in a record 2 hours and he was totally fine by the next morning. I have no idea if it was a virus or just side effects of the chemo.

Ok, so here’s what we talked about with his doctor.

his g-tube

His g-tube has been leaking for a few months. We’ve tried a few things but nothing is fixing it. He’s got an appointment next month to go see the surgeon that placed the tube. Jay and I are hoping that he just needs a bigger size. (He wouldn’t need surgery for that – it’s something Jay or I can do). But we need the surgeon to make the call on what size.

his skin

If you’ve seen Brock in person then you know the skin on his arms and face are really red and really dry all the time. It’s been that way for so long that I can’t remember when it started. He’s also EXTREMELY sensitive to the sun. Just incidental sun exposure from walking from the house to the car can cause him to burn. He’s also developed sun spots (age spots) on his arms, hands, and face. His oncologist said “His arms look like an 80 year old man’s!” Lastly he has a couple of moles on his arm that have gotten bigger and darker. SO. We have a referral to see the dermatologist. They can’t get him in until the middle of August. Boo. Honestly, I’m a little worried about his skin.

his size

Brock’s a little guy. I think I’ve told you before that he’s in the 0th percentile for height. That means 100% of kids that are his age are taller than him. Last month I asked the PA that we saw in clinic if we could test for a growth hormone deficiency. And she said no. *Ahem* So last week I asked Brock’s oncologist and she said “absolutely!” So they drew blood for that last week but we don’t have the results yet.

his eating

We talked to Brock’s oncologist about how we felt like we weren’t getting much guidance in this area. She suggested we talk to the psychologist in the hem/onc clinic and that we find a speech pathologist who specializes in feeding therapy. We met with the psychologist on Monday and we have a referral to see a new speech path on July 9th. I’m hopeful that this new speech path can help him but I’m HEARTBROKEN about leaving our current speech path. I love her and so does Brock. She’s wonderful with him. I’m so so sad about it. (As a side note, I haven’t told her yet. For those of you that know her, please don’t tell her until I can talk to her when we go this Friday.)

So those are the things we’re praying about. Please join us also in praying for my friend Tina. Her baby boy Corban passed away on Monday night. My heart is heavy for her and her family.

Thank you so much for continuing to walk with us down this long, long road.

20120627-125023.jpg

20120627-125230.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. Dearest sweet brave Brock, grateful as always to get an update on you. Extremely sorry to hear of baby Corban’s passing and ask the Lord to keep the family in His loving comfort and peace.

    Trusting God to continue to keep you going strong as He gives great wisdom to all the medical staff taking care of you! ❤

    Ten Things God Wants You To Remember

    I am for you.
    I love you.
    I believe in you.
    I will not fail you.
    I will be with you.
    I will provide for you.
    I will bless you.
    I will give you rest.
    I will strengthen you.
    I will answer you.

    The Lord bless you and keep you.
    Numbers 6:24

    Isaiah 58:8
    Then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear; then your righteousness will go before you, and the glory of the LORD will be your rear guard.

    (F)ully (R)ely (O)n (G)od
    FROGGING FOR YOU!!

    "An infinite God can give all of Himself to each of His children, He does not distribute Himself that each may have a part, but to each one He gives all of Himself as fully as if there were no others" – A. W. Tozer

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ *GOD LOVES YOU* ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    In His Love,

    Caterina
    caterina@colesfoundation.org
    C.O.L.E. (Caring Openly, Loving Eternally) Prayer Team
    http://www.colesfoundation.com http://www.colespages.org
    24/7 Prayer Line 888-365-COLE (2653)
    http://www.kidsunitetofight.com

    "There are many Americans who are clever and fearless, but the trouble is many are small children fighting an ugly disease."

    Comment by Caterina Grove — June 27, 2012 @ 12:39 pm

  2. Hi,

    I am glad Brock is doing well overall. I know the feeding is soo tough!!! I see so many families go thru it. I pray the new speech path is able to help.

    I am sorry Brock has places of concern. I pray the derm. will have a cancellation. The good news is hopefully if the doctors were really concerned…they would get you in sooner!!!

    Have a blessed summer!!

    ♥♥ Love ya!! ♥♥
    C.O.L.E.’s Foundation
    (Caring Openly, Loving Eternally)
    http://www.colesfoundation.org
    http://www.colespages.org
    Email: sandy@colesfoundation.com
    Sandy Daron

    Comment by Sandy Daron — June 27, 2012 @ 4:30 pm

  3. My prayers are with Brock and Corban’s family. May God give you and them the peace that He knows best in all situations.

    Comment by Olga Pruett — June 29, 2012 @ 8:53 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

